Wednesday, October 01, 2008

Collessie Church North Fife

Collessie Church in North Fife was first consecrated by David de Burnham, Bishop of St Andrews on 39th July 1243 though the site is thought to have been used for worship long before, perhaps since the Bronze Age. The present building was designed by an Edinburgh Architect and opened for worship in 1839. It has changed little since and follows a layout of the times, built on a T plan system with a crenellated and pinnacled tower on the west gable.

In the churchyard can be found the Tomb of the Melville Family a once powerful Earl of the realm.Melville House, which is located at Monimail, 2½ miles (4 km) north of Ladybank, was built in 1697 by James Smith (c.1645 - 1731) for George, 1st Earl Melville, incorporating the 14th Century Monimail Tower. The H-plan house, with its pioneering neo-Palladian facade, was regarded as the finest in Fife and stands testament to Smith's skill as an architect. Some controversy exists as to whether Sir William Bruce (1630 - 1710) was involved in the design, but it is most likely that this was all due to Smith. Following World War II many of the sumptuous furnishings have been removed or sold, for example, the Melville State Bed was given to the Victoria and Albert Museum in London in 1949. The house has been billet for Polish troops during the war, a boy's school and a home for the handicapped. It is now again a private residence. This information provided by Gazetteer for Scotland.

No comments: